Chaconne from Partita No. 2 in D Minor

Chaconne from Partita No. 2 in D Minor
In stock
Our Price: $16.99

The D-minor Chaconne is undoubtedly the most famous movement of all of Bach's 6 Sonatas and Partitas for violin solo. So it is hardly surprising that it has seen many arrangements. Johannes Brahms marvelled at how a single staff of music could offer a whole world of the deepest thoughts and the mightiest emotions. He promptly made his own arrangement; it is for left hand alone, in order to come close to the restrictive framework of the original. He wrote enthusiastically: A similar degree of difficulty, the manner of technique, the arpeggios - everything comes together to make me feel like a violinist! This Henle Urtext edition by Valerie Woodring-Goertzen is based on the text of the new Brahms Complete Edition. In her foreword she also offers fascinating details aboutthe compositional history of this unusual work.

Table of Contents:

Composer: Johannes Brahms
Voicing: Piano
Pages: 20

Customer Reviews

(0.00)stars out of 5
# of Ratings: 0