1. X. 1905 - Piano Sonata

1. X. 1905 - Piano Sonata

Price (CAD): $22.99
SKU:  1001-51481174
Manufacturer Part #:  51481174
In stock
Ships Free on Orders Over $199
Shipping is calculated in cart. All prices are in Canadian dollars.

The composition 1.X.1905, generally referred to as a sonata, stems from the autumn of 1905, the peak of the riots between the Czech- and German-speaking populations in Janacek's hometown Brno. Reacting to the violent death of a Czech worker, Janacek wrote a three-part composition for piano originally bearing the title From the Street, on October 1, 1905. Dissatisfied with the work, however, Janacek is said to have first burned the third movement in his fireplace and then thrown the remaining two movements into the Vltava, even before its premiere. A copy of these first two movements on which the publication of the first edition was later based is also missing today. For this reason, the Urtext edition of G. Henle Publishers and Universal Edition is based solely on thefirst edition from 1924, which Janacek expert Jiri Zahradka has carefully evaluated and annotated for this volume.

Table of Contents:

Publisher: Hal Leonard
Composer: Leos Janacek
Voicing: Piano
Pages: 21

Customer Reviews

(0.00)stars out of 5
# of Ratings: 0